Dear Ally,

Home » Uncategorized » Calculus Notes

Calculus Notes

Ti-82 (2)

Dear Ally,

I don’t know if you realize this, but I was in your shoes as a first year college student exactly 20 years ago. This post was supposed to be for Throwback Thursday last week, but Monday nights while your Uncle Adam watches WWE Raw, and now the Buckeye’s game, seem to be the only regular time I can devote to writing.

Anyway, in 1995 we were the first freshman class to have e-mail and, of course, none of us had cell phones. I was taking calculus from the worst professor I’ve ever had. The guy would show up for class in a ratty t-shirt, jeans, and flip flops. He did nothing besides write on the board, except for when the chalk broke, and then he would swear and throw the pieces. I met my good friend, Mark, who is now an English professor, in that calculus class. Mark and I were so bored in that class that we used to write notes to each other by typing them into my TI-82 calculator and passing it between us, pretending to be sharing it. That was texting old school!

So why did I tell you this story? Because there always have and always will be distractions, boring classes, and professors who are not engaging. Learn in spite of this!

Warmly,

Aunt Sarah


Leave a comment